Yea..I am Getting my own Snake

A rather lovely Ball Python these snake like being handled
Ball Python

Not been blogging in a while as work has kept me quite busy but got some time so thought try and get back into it. Got some exciting news as well, the wife has finally agreed to me having a snake at home. So I have  been pricing up and finding out what is the best and safest equipment to have etc and finally we came up with a list we agree on.

  1. A small snake initially.
  2. One that will eat frozen food. I would prefer to be as natural as possible but daughter keeps mice so however much she likes the idea of a snake i think at 8yrs old she would not be happy seeing it fed live mice.
  3. Not venomous – not with a child in the house.
  4. One that can be handled as much as is possible
  5. We have decided on a ball python after discussion with the zoo snake keeper. These have a life span of up to 30 years if well looked after so he is going to be part of the family for a long time.

The keeper has also advised me on a reputable firm, as he says smuggled or illegal snakes could be a problem. Also on a vet that knows about snakes. I also got  a list of what I need to buy. Sat down with the wife and discussed our options in the end we decided that I would take out a pay loan to purchase everything and to have a small snake fund, I have also been nicely blackmailed into taking the wife away for a weekend. We have decided to get the loan from ferratum.co.uk, anyone else used them? We had a few decent recommendations re them. While I am asking questions I am open to advice from anyone who owns a Ball Python on practically any aspect of their care or recommended websites/books. I have a few but always open to suggestions.

Leave a comment